High School Ghost

In Memory of  Alyssa Sialaris

I saw your name

and it tickled my brain

so I looked you up in the student dictionary

to see you were the one.

 

One of the few to look me in the eye and say my name.

I found I had memories of the way you run after big dogs in high school parking lots.

 

Long legs covered in denim,

Soft winter beanie on long curly brown hair

Your hooded eyes looking at me

From the back of a pickup truck

Talking despite my silence

Always trying even when I didn’t know how

To respond to your kindness

Except for a smile

A feeling of awkward peace.

 

It was then that I realized I missed you.

It was then I realized death would never let me rekindle an acquaintance

To see if it could be friendship

That my choice of school meant I’d never see you again

The loss to the world

The typical thought of how no one would see you in a wedding dress

 

I’m sorry,

This is how my society taught me to be

Thinking of your unlived future with a shot of whiskey

But you,

You’re one of the few that ever seemed to believe there was something in me.

 

So, I’ll brew a cup of tea

Reflect on a sweet memory

Of a parking lot at sunset

And long denim clad legs

Running free.

Leave a comment